Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
stuartlawrence

Browning branches on Picea Engelmannii Blue Magoo

stuartlawrence (7b L.I. NY)
5 years ago
last modified: 5 years ago

Hi, My Blue Magoo is in the 5 1 1 mix. I'm new to to using it. It's been in the 80's every day. I've been watering the tree every few days or more often when the soil feels mostly dry. The tree's currently putting on new growth. A couple branches have lost their needles at the tips and are dead. You think I'm watering it too much or not enough?

Thoughts?

Thanks.

Comments (18)

• whaas_5a
    5 years ago

Planted 6 of these different sources, different years, different houses. They have all performed poorly or have died. Well all have died except one hanging by a thread.

This is the worst cultivar I've ever encountered. Bush's Lace on the other hand is exceptional and vigorous.

I know that doesn't help but you might be better off without out it.

• Embothrium
    5 years ago

Pot is way too small, which can't be helping. Collector conifer cultivars can be on the general market for short and very occasional periods, with the point soon coming that all that are found at regional outlets date back to that one year or so that Iseli or whomever was sending a particular kind out. If stock being viewed was never potted on by the retailer then it will still be in the same pot and potting medium that it was shipped in.

Maybe some years ago.

Perhaps without ever having been fertilized since having left the production facility.

• stuartlawrence (7b L.I. NY)
    Original Author
    5 years ago

Thanks. It's in a 10 gallon container. When I repotted into the 5 1 1 mix the roots were no where near the outside of the pot.